Schaben awarded Golden Apple

Alicia Schaben received the Golden Apple Award from committee member Andy Young. Photo by Kacey Ginn

Wednesday, May 2, was the annual Clarion-Goldfield-Dows staff appreciation event. Every year, teachers and staff members are recognized for their years of service, retirees share memories, and the nominees and winner of the Golden Apple Award are announced.

Forty students and community members nominated teachers to receive the Golden Apple Excellence in Education award. In all, 22 teachers were nominated: Rachel Sido, Laura TerHark, Deb Vance, Pat O’Brien, Katie Orness, Tom Klaver, Allison Warnke, Joyce Keeling, Margaret Askelsen, Craig Warnke, Denise Ulven, Heather Walker, Tamara EnTin, Alicia Schaben, Kent Wesselink, Adam Vorrie, Austin Warnke, Leah Wiederin, Lynette Smith, Erin Morrical, Tessa Yackle, and Karen Staples. All nominees received recognition certificates and a lapel pin.

While scoring for nominations was very close, out of all the excellent nominees, one teacher was selected for the award: Alicia Schaben, high school special education teacher.

Comments in the nominations for Schaben described how her work had changed others’ perspectives about special education students. Schaben expressed gratitude for the wider community that had welcomed her students. 

“I want to thank you for being so accepting and so supportive of what we do,” Schaben said.


For more C-G-D district news, see the May 10 edition of the Monitor.