Clarion-Goldfield-Dows Transition Board holds first meeting

The Clarion-Goldfield-Dows School Transition Board held its first meeting on Tuesday, Oct. 22.

Beth Jackson, Beth Severson, Clint Middleton, and Missy Schultz all took their oaths of office. Corey Jacobsen had already taken his oath, prior to the meeting. Clint Middleton was appointed president, and Beth Severson was appointed vice president. Anita Frye was appointed acting board secretary. Robert Olson was appointed acting superintendant. Rick Engle and Bob Malloy were appointed as acting school attorneys.

The board also approved a resolution regarding the Instructional Support Levy. In the past, there has been an eight percent surtax as part of the ISP, in the Clarion-Goldfield District. With the new resolution, the ISP would be paid entirely by property tax, not the practice of the Dows CSD.

“It will switch all to property tax for the next budget year,” said Olson.

Since the levy was passed by resolution instead of vote, the levy will be for five years instead of ten.

The board then set the date of their next meeting. The agreed to reschedule the normal Clarion-Goldfield school board meeting to 6:00 p.m., on Monday, Nov. 11, with the transition board meeting later at 7:30 p.m.